So whenever I talk about an issue that’s important to me, people tell me to calm down.

I mean, all my classmates could potentially have been asleep during the TOK class that we covered this is, but emotion and reason? Yeah, they’re linked. And it would be incredibly nice of you to acknowledge that.

If it’s an issue I care about, I’m going to have emotions involving it. And I’m going to talk fast, and I’m going to be angry. Or sad. Or happy. And that doesn’t mean that I’m not making sensible arguments that people should listen to. Listen to me, and listen to a voice that is wracked with emotion, and understand that it is because the issue is important to me.

All productive conversations aren’t going to hide under your little banner of calm. Real conversations are going to be emotion-ridden, because they’re important.

Oh, and please stop telling me I’m not doing my cause any good by being angry. You’re doing worse by telling me to stop, because if you’ve been saying you don’t see the point in my cause, why does it matter how I choose to get it over the giant chasm of your ignorance? No, I’m just making a cause you already thought looked bad look worse. But if I had spoken calmly and reasonably, you would’ve understood every word I said, and then proceeded to convince the world of this. Calmly and Reasonably.

Here’s the deal: You probably have your own valid experience and ideas about how best to communicate about social justice issues – which is great.

And so do I, and if I’m this concerned by an issue? I’m not going to talk softly and politely.

Yeah, there are limits to my effectiveness if I’m going to be brash and rude. But there are already limits. And I’m not saying you don’t have a point to your approach. I’m just saying that sometimes I need to yell about an issue to feel like I’m being heard.

And I don’t need you proving your superiority by telling me to ssh.

~lostlutalica

